Angebote zu "Ebook" (17.403 Treffer)

About Time (eBook, ePUB)
9,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

This is a book about the meaning of time, what it is, when it has started, how it flows and where to. It examines the consequences of Einstein´s theory of relativity and offers startling suggestions about what recent research may reveal.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 20.08.2019
Zum Angebot
The Redemption of Time (eBook, ePUB)
6,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

At the end of the fourth year of the Crisis Era, Yun Tianming, riddled with cancer, chose to end his life. But death is no release for Yun Tianming - merely the first step in a journey that will place him on the frontline of a war that has raged since the beginning of time. As Yun Tianming lay dying, his brain was extracted from his body, flash frozen, put aboard a spacecraft and launched on a trajectory to intercept the Trisolarian First Fleet. It was a desperate plan, almost certain to fail. But there was an infinitesimal chance that one day Tianming may, somehow, send valuable information back to Earth. And so he does. But not before he succumbed to subjective centuries of alien torture and betrayed humanity. Rewarded with a cloned body by the Trisolarans, Tianming has spent millennia in exile as a traitor to the human race. But now he has a final chance at redemption. A being calling itself The Spirit recruits him to help wage war against a foe that threatens the existence of the entire universe. But Tianming refuses to be a pawn again. He has his own plans...

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 20.08.2019
Zum Angebot
The Arrival of Another Time (eBook, ePUB)
1,49 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

THE ARRIVAL OF ANOTHER TIME is a novella about longing. Words about love and happiness meet memories and time after time the sea. With an interplay between monologue and dialogue, the reader embarks on a journey about the reason behind longing and its pulling power.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 20.08.2019
Zum Angebot
The Game of Time (eBook, ePUB)
2,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The Book of Time records the God and Goddess´ moves on the eternal Game of Time, deciding the fate of humans and their world. Every day, the God and Goddess play and the Book of Time records. It is only a matter of time until someone makes a mistake and the magic of the Gods goes haywire. A deity filled fantasy short story from Felicia Fredlund, author of Magic and Sacrifice . ´´The story is interesting and well written…´´ - Tangent Online

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 20.08.2019
Zum Angebot
Running Out of Time (eBook, ePUB)
2,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

The NEXT TIME series is back with another gripping adventure across time. After narrowly cheating death, our favorite time-travelling twins, Dani and Daric, are back in action. With no clue how to find their way back home, the siblings attempt to navigate life in a period of history they´ve only ever read about. Each jump in time takes them to a more foreign and ancient place in the world´s timeline, causing the twins to doubt whether they will ever see their home again. In the present, Professor Quinn Delaney struggles to complete his work, to have any chance of bringing his children back from the past, but he runs into serious complications of his own. Richard, meanwhile, remains a man fueled by a feverish desire to take everything from Quinn, including rekindling the spark once shared with Quinn´s wife, Sandra. But just how far will Richard go to ensure his devious plan succeeds? As the Delaney family will soon discover, a once close family friend has unexpectedly become an unstoppable adversary. From the author that brought you LOST IN TIME comes the second journey in the NEXT TIME trilogy, RUNNING OUT OF TIME. Allow yourself to be transported into the past as the Delaney family attempt to fight their way back to each other.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 20.08.2019
Zum Angebot
Precarious Times (eBook, PDF)
7,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In Precarious Times, Anne Fuchs explores how works of German literature, film, and photography reflect on the profound temporal anxieties precipitated by contemporary experiences of atomization, displacement, and fragmentation that bring about a loss of history and of time itself and that is peculiar to our current moment. The digital age places premiums on just-in-time deliveries, continual innovation, instantaneous connectivity, and around-the-clock availability. While some celebrate this 24/7 culture, others see it as profoundly destructive to the natural rhythm of day and night-and to human happiness. Have we entered an era of a perpetual present that depletes the future and erodes our grasp of the past? Beginning its examination around 1900, when rapid modernization was accompanied by comparably intense reflection on changing temporal experience, Precarious Times provides historical depth and perspective to current debates on the ´´digital now.´´ Expanding the modern discourse on time and speed, Fuchs deploys such concepts as attention, slowness and lateness to emphasize the uneven quality of time around the world.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 20.08.2019
Zum Angebot
Make Time (eBook, ePUB)
11,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

´If you want to achieve more (without going nuts), read this book.´ - Charles Duhigg, bestselling author of The Power of Habit and Smarter Faster Better Most of our time is spent by default. We all wish for more hours in the day. We all struggle to make time for what matters. Help is here. Productivity experts Jake Knapp and John Zeratsky have created a four-step framework that anyone can use, packed with more than 80 tactics to help you design your day around the things that matter. Tactics such as: · Choose a daily highlight · Be the boss of your phone · Stay out of social media infinity pools · Slow your inbox · Make TV a ´sometimes treat´ · Exercise every day (but don´t be a hero) · Eat without screens · Go off grid · Spend time with your tribe · Make your bedroom a bed room With tips and tricks to help you change your life, it´s time to stop daydreaming about projects and activities that you´ll get to ´someday´, and start that someday today. ´Make Time is essential reading for anyone who wants to create a happier, more successful life.´ - Gretchen Rubin, author of The Happiness Project

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 20.08.2019
Zum Angebot
The Outcasts of Time (eBook, ePUB)
5,48 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

´Beautifully written and superbly executed´ Times ´This clever and moving Faustian tale is packed with fascinating historical detail´ Express ´A joyous romp around England´s dark past´ Suzie Feay, Guardian From the author of the bestselling The Time Traveller´s Guide to Restoration Britain, this is a stunningly high-concept historical novel that is both as daring as it is gripping, and perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse. December 1348. With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to Hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world, or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries - living each one of their remaining days ninety-nine years after the last. John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived. As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the reader travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out - can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up? What readers are saying: ´Wow, what a book! I absolutely adored this. This was ambitious but done to perfection´ Sara Marsden ´The Outcasts of Time is a tour de force, rich in spellbinding detail. Haunting and atmospheric, there is warmth and humour alongside fear and torment; all human life is here. As perfect a novel as any I´ve ever read´ Ophelia´s Reads ´A fascinating trip through seven centuries of history ... The author has done well to traverse such a sweep of time ... it´s a great read and I´d recommend it´ Netgalley reviewer, 4 stars

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 23.08.2019
Zum Angebot
A Wrinkle in Time (eBook, ePUB)
1,99 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

A Wrinkle in Time is the winner of the 1963 Newbery Medal. It was a dark and stormy night-Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the arrival of a most disturbing stranger. ´´Wild nights are my glory,´´ the unearthly stranger told them. ´´I just got caught in a downdraft and blown off course. Let me sit down for a moment, and then I´ll be on my way. Speaking of ways, by the way, there is such a thing as a tesseract.´´ A tesseract (in case the reader doesn´t know) is a wrinkle in time. To tell more would rob the reader of the enjoyment of Miss L´Engle´s unusual book. A Wrinkle in Time, winner of the Newbery Medal in 1963, is the story of the adventures in space and time of Meg, Charles Wallace, and Calvin O´Keefe (athlete, student, and one of the most popular boys in high school). They are in search of Meg´s father, a scientist who disappeared while engaged in secret work for the government on the tesseract problem.

Anbieter: buecher.de
Stand: 23.08.2019
Zum Angebot